Leo’s travel journal

Leo’s travel journal and other juicy bits…

Reflections

with 2 comments

I have a flight to catch back to Kuala Lumpur in a couple of hours…

I must say that this has truly been an enjoyable trip. I had good company in Frankfurt which I will relish for some time.

Riga was an experience, both bad and good. Weather wasn’t too bad as well.

Krakow is a truly beautiful city. I will come back here for holiday as it is quite affordable (1 polish zloty is 1.3 malaysian ringgit).

I took a quick trip to the Wieliczka Salt Mine here this morning. Krakow’s Wieliczka salt mine is situated some ten kilometers from the center of Krakow. One of the UNESCO World Heritage Site in Poland, it has become increasingly a tourist attraction in the first place. Today visitors walk underground for about 2,000 metres in the oldest part of the salt mine and see its subterranean museum, which takes three hours or so.

Beautiful salt sculptures
My PDA camera decided to go wonky on me so here are some pictures I took off the internet, obviously credits go out to the individual photographers.

Salt has been mined near Krakow for centuries. The mines were closed in the early 1990s because of flooding (that made everything ham sap – okay, I know, lame attempt at a joke here), but large sections are open for visitors. Miners carved out statues and entire rooms from the rock salt.

The salty last supper
There’s even an entire cathedral carved out of salt within the mines. The floors are carved and polished, the chandeliers are made of rock salt crystals, and the stations of the cross are carved out of salt too!

My little souvenir from the salt mine
On a separate note, I was having a late night / early morning conversation with Simmy. She’s truly something I must say. To get married so early in life.

She brought up one good question on blogs. I told her I do practise some amount of self-censorship when it comes to my blog.

I don’t really blog about my personal life (besides the occasional emotional episodes). I am one, who believes that a clear line should be drawn when divulging potentially confidential aspects of my life. In Chinese, we say 1 is 1 and 2 is 2.

Heck, if I wanted to do the whole “how-I-truly-feel and who-did-what” thing, I would start an anonymous blog.

But for now, I’m happy with what I’ve done so far with this one and don’t see any reason to fix anything that’s not broken.

So, here’s to the upcoming loads of booze, annoyance, 15.5 hours of flying and 6.75 hours of transiting. See you all back in Kuala Lumpur.

“Plis retun you sit uplight and faster you sit bilt, sawadee ka”

Cheers!

Written by Leo

28 April 2007 at 17:34

Posted in Travel

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, the pictures are great. This mine is amazing!

    bwPingu

    1 May 2007 at 11:48

  2. Yes indeed. The mine looks breath-taking, especially the Last Supper.

    Marius

    3 May 2007 at 11:42


Leave a Reply

