Leo’s travel journal

Leo’s travel journal and other juicy bits…

Canai and Chilli

with 3 comments


Buon giorno! Como estais?

So it seems that my tolerance for spicy food (in particular) has dropped significantly over the years.

While having “roti banjir dhal” (paratha with lentil curry) this morning, my tummy immediately churned, complaining of the spices. Everything went “free-flow” thereafter.

It was my first time eating mamak (Indian Muslim) food in a very long time, almost a year apparently. Why all of the sudden you ask?

The thought of being away from home for 21 days is truly a scary one. Hence, the loading up on local food before I leave. Perhaps its the 3 months that I’ve relatively stayed put in KL?

Don’t get me wrong, I love Indian food. I could have my naan bread and chicken jalfrezy every single day without complaints. But when it comes to mamak, it hardly appeals to me for several reasons. Hygiene and authenticity are the main dilemmas I struggle with.

Yeah okay, I’m being a sissy =)

I don’t remember my last teh tarik.

Italian CEO mentioned in passing during lunch yesterday that he would like to re-contract my terms. He mentioned something about salary and “consultancy fees”. Exciting times ahead I must say, but its gonna be a tough year due to certain “circumstances” that didn’t turn out the way it should have. So right now, its down to CEO and me to keep the company alive.

We have been frequenting Nero Vivo a lot for lunch (my favourite being the Potato Gnocchi with Gorgonzola Sauce). And lunch at Nero Vivo isn’t complete with the Prosecco (Italian dry sparkling wine) aperitif and concluded with the traditional espresso with a shot of Grappa.

Then there’s the occasional pre-dinner drinks and long midday coffee sessions when CEO and I aren’t in the mood to work.

I must say I love my job. I do the things I love and travel to decent places comfortably (Moscow is the only exception). I don’t wear a suit, shirt and tie to the office. Most of the time its jeans, sneakers and a tee. I get what I ask for (equipment and manpower).

I receive opportunities that peers my age or older can only dream of. A decent above-average paycheck at the end of the month tops it all off.

Life in general is good, except for the “free-flow” bowels right now.

Cheers to life. =)

Written by Leo

13 September 2007 at 9:18

Posted in My Thoughts

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ouch..take care..looks like u need to strengthen urself up with more street food haha..

    "Joe" who is constantly craving

    13 September 2007 at 10:12

  2. *gasp*Where can I get chicken jalfrezy in KL? Been craving for them since I had my first taste of chicken jalfrezy in London last year.

    Cupcake Queen

    13 September 2007 at 18:10

  3. joe: tell me about it buddy… :Scupcake: umm the food court in KLCC? Level 2 right under chillis?

    leo

    18 September 2007 at 0:25


Leave a Reply

