Leo’s travel journal

Leo’s travel journal and other juicy bits…

Ciao Kiev!

with 2 comments

A quick update~!

Greetings earthlings! I am writing from Kiev Borispil International Airport waiting to check in for my flight to Frankfurt.

It’s been a great one month in Europe and needless to say, I have enjoyed myself thoroughly. It’s also been good for work with a plethora of new clients coming on board.

Reflecting back, it was one hell of a roller coaster ride racing from one airport to another chasing (and nearly missing) flights. As expected, the hotel in Kyiv was very communistic and was way overpriced compared to the price I payed for the Sheraton, Westin and other hotels in my past destinations. I was indeed glad that I decided to spend the Easter weekend in Warsaw, albeit a quiet one than an additional two nights in a communist camp here in Kiev. It was a white Easter – with heavy snowfall in the early morning till late afternoon.

In my travels, I bumped into several interesting personalities, here are a few…

Warsaw – I was having a nightcap at the bar on Saturday before Easter and was chatted up by a Polish doctor who was with his friend. He bought me several rounds of whiskey and we did have an interesting conversation. He’s one of the leading orthodontist in Eastern Europe and has his own private practice in Warsaw as well as consultative work in the hospitals around Poland. Passed me his card and to quote – “If you ever have any teeth problems in Poland, just give me a call!”… Sure will do yes siree!

Kiev – Another strange encounter was with two German blokes from Dusseldorf over a nightcap at the bar in the hotel last night. I had a really good dinner at the hotel’s restaurant – Veal steak with grilled vegetables, with a wonderful glass of Chianti (Ukrainian wines are truly unpalatable) and rounded it up with a generous serving of French cognac.

Continued my drink at the bar where I bumped into these two blokes who were in the printing business. We exchanged views of the worst (and best) airports that we’ve been to, airlines and hotels. They bought me drinks. Hehe!

I hope to get back to tropical weather soon. Weather here in Europe has been pretty crazy… It is supposed to be spring but most of Europe is still experiencing snowfall.

That’s all I can think about right now, more updates soon! Cheerios from Europe.

Un bacio grande!

Written by Leo

28 March 2008 at 11:38

Posted in My Thoughts

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. how come u seem to be chatting up only the guys? haha..

    "Joe" who is constantly craving

    29 March 2008 at 14:00

  2. or rather, guys seem to be chatting me up… hmmmmmmmm

    leo

    31 March 2008 at 11:48


Leave a Reply

