Leo’s travel journal

Leo’s travel journal and other juicy bits…

Borneo Adventure Part 2 – Kuching

with one comment

Sunset from my room, overlooking the Sarawak River
Kuching is the capital of the East Malaysian state of Sarawak and is the most populous city in the state of Sarawak and the fourth largest city in Malaysia.

My feeling about Kuching is, despite it being called a city, I find the people generally rather umm, provincial. No offense to Kuchingnites who read my blog, of course as with everything there are exceptions.

Nevertheless, my experience in Kuching was a pleasant one, thanks to June who took time off from crashing for her finals to show me the sights.

But work was work, and upon leaving Batang Ai in the morning on the 8.30am ferry, I backtracked again through Lachau (for an early lunch) and Serian. Arrived in Kuching at 1.45pm (no, Ambrose wasn’t speeding).

Visited the supplier’s office to do some PR, followed by a late lunch in Khatulistiwa (which wasn’t WOW I must say, had the Sarawak Laksa). I then went to Holiday Inn Kuching, Crowne Plaza, and Merdeka Palace for a brief inspection of their properties.

Mango Tree – Thai food, nothing impressive
Met up with a friend from Hilton Kuching in the evening for drinks at Senso, followed by dinner at Mango Tree with June who joined us there.

Night view of Kuching from my room, 30 seconds exposure
We went around and June showed me the place in Tabuan (I forgot the name, I think it was Jalan Song) where Kuchingnites hang out to makan (think of it as an Asia Café, only half the size) and Friendship Park. We went restaurant scouting thereafter and landed in Magenta, a chic fusion hip hop restaurant located around 10 minutes drive from the Hilton Kuching where I was staying.

The interior of Magenta
Façade of Magenta – charming isn’t it?
June sent me back to the hotel, I hung out at Senso watching Nadal and Federer fight it out. Crappy Filipino band played.

Treehouse at Permai Rainforest Resort
Wildlife at Permai Rainforest Resort
The next morning, I headed towards Damai to inspect the Permai Rainforest Resort, Damai Puri Resort and Damai Beach Resort. Met up with old colleagues who used to work with Nexus, they have since moved out to form the pre-opening team of Damai Puri.

Damai Puri Resort – brings back old memories
Nice flowers at Damai Puri Resort
Took the afternoon flight out of Kuching to Kota Kinabalu.

Written by Leo

16 June 2008 at 18:37

Posted in Travel

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hey kor (:wanted to let you know that i’m still alive. and i miss you.

    CherishLee

    18 June 2008 at 9:01


Leave a Reply

